Mississippi Concealed Carry Laws
If you live in Mississippi and want to legally carry a handgun, you should first learn about the rules governing permitless carry. While most states honor concealed carry permits, Mississippi is different. A permit holder must undergo a safety training course and be in a specific location to carry a handgun. There are many exemptions to the concealed carry laws in Mississippi, including government buildings, schools, bars, and churches.
To qualify, you must be a resident of Mississippi and 21 years old. If you live outside of Mississippi, you may be exempted from these requirements. Additionally, you cannot be a fugitive, a habitual user of controlled substances, or have been in rehab in the last three years. However, if you're an officer of the Mississippi state police, you do not need to obtain a license to carry a gun in Mississippi.
Another important law regarding concealed carry in Mississippi is the Castle Doctrine. This law limits the use of deadly force in activities related to firearms. If you suspect someone shooting you, don't hesitate to call the local Sheriff's department. They'll be able to inform you of your permit. In most states, you must apply for a permit to carry a concealed gun. There are several ways to apply for a permit, too.
You can also acquire an enhanced permit for concealed carry in Mississippi if you don't have a basic permit. This is the best option if you live in the state, and plan to carry your weapon outside the state. Mississippi is a "shall issue" state, which means that if you meet the qualifications, you'll be issued a permit. It is not required to have a resident's license or to have a physical disability.
It is important to remember that there are restrictions for carrying a concealed firearm in Mississippi, so if you live in a city, town, or county, make sure you check these laws before carrying your gun. While the law is generally clear, there are some exceptions. For instance, if you want to carry a concealed firearm in a school, you must first obtain a pre-paid license from the appropriate law enforcement authority.
To obtain a standard permit in Mississippi, you must be at least 18 years old. You must also be 21 years old or older to obtain an enhanced permit. You may renew your Mississippi concealed carry permit online or by mail. You need to be photographed in person every 10 years. You can also renew your license by taking a safety training course to become a more knowledgeable gun owner. Once your permit has been renewed, you'll receive an approval letter in the mail.
The Department of Public Safety can issue you a license if you meet certain requirements. The license will also grant you the right to carry a concealed pistol. However, you must also be licensed to carry a stun gun in the state. A license issued in another state will be recognized in Mississippi as well, but it will require a written agreement from the other state. When you obtain your license, it will be valid throughout the state for five years.