News

Perceive Georgia Auto Crash Legal guidelines

If you know the law, you can rest assured that you will be safe after your car accident.

The days after a car accident can be overwhelming. You may seek treatment for injury, get repaired, and mentally recover from this unexpected event.

You may have considered filing a lawsuit or insurance claim to repair your injuries and / or property damage. There are several auto accident laws in Georgia that you should be familiar with in order to successfully take action after your collision. As a victim of a wreck, knowing how the wrecked car laws affect you will help you cope with the difficult time following your car accident.

Georgia Car Collision Statut of Limitations

The statute of limitations for personal injury in Georgia is two years. This means that you have two years from the date of the crash to file a personal injury lawsuit.

To repair vehicle damage, you have four years from the date of the collision to file a lawsuit. If you are filing an illegal obituary notice on behalf of someone who died as a result of a car accident, you have two years from the date of death to file your obituary notice.

You should speak to an attorney as soon as possible after your crash if you want to file a lawsuit. If the statute of limitations expired prior to your filing, your lawsuit will almost certainly be dismissed.

Mistake in Georgia

Georgia is a modified comparison error condition. This means you can potentially repair damage as long as you have less than 50% of your wreckage in debt. For example, if you didn’t use your turn signal but another driver gave a red light and collided with your car, you can still recover as long as a judge or jury determines that the other driver is primarily responsible for the accident. Speaking with a Georgia auto accident attorney can help determine if you might still be able to recover damages despite a contributing mistake.

Two cars in an accident at an intersection; Image by Shuets Udono, via Flickr, CC BY-SA 2.0, no changes.

If you are partially responsible for a wreck, the court will reduce your final damages by the percentage of the fault for which you are responsible. For example, if a jury finds that you are responsible for 25% of the wreckage, they will reduce your award by 25%. Most personal injury cases are settled before legal proceedings are reached. Your lawyer will be able to negotiate a reasonable settlement, taking into account any mistakes you may have contributed.

Insurance requirements

In Georgia, drivers must adhere to the following minimum levels of auto insurance:

Personal Injury Liability Insurance for $ 25,000 per person; Personal Injury Liability Insurance for $ 50,000 per collision; and property damage liability insurance of $ 25,000 per collision.

These insurance limits help cover damage and personal injury that you cause. Personal Injury Insurance pays up to $ 25,000 to a single person you injured in a collision. If more than one person is injured in the collision, your insurance will pay the injured up to $ 50,000 below the limit per accident. The insurance coverage listed above is the minimum required by Georgia state law. If you took out a loan to buy your vehicle, the lender may need additional insurance.

Uninsured drivers can be fined up to $ 1,000, their license suspended, or other penalties. In addition, uninsured drivers are personally liable for any injuries or damage they cause. If you are injured by an uninsured driver, you may be able to seek compensation from their personal property. If you have uninsured / uninsured car insurance, your own insurance company can reimburse you.

Understand how Georgia car wreck laws affect you

If you know the law, you can rest assured that you will be safe after your car accident. A skilled auto accident attorney can tell you more about how these laws apply to the specific details of your car collision. Speaking to an attorney will help you plan your next steps during this stressful time.

Related Articles